Higher Perspective

My friend Coleen gave me a plane flying lesson near San Francisco for a birthday gift. She and I redeemed the coupon earlier this week. Our pilot was a 50 something year old trim six foot tall seasoned veteran who had been flying for many years. He didn’t have on the usual jeans and leather jacket the other pilots were wearing. Massimo is from Bologna, Italia. He was dressed like an Italian, in a powder blue button down shirt with a navy blue sweater with straight, form fitting (but not skinny) jeans. His Italian shoes made a clip clop sound on the pavement as we walked from the office to our plane on the runway.

Massimo had a safety checklist that took a few minutes to get through before we were allowed to set foot inside the plane. Once we were strapped into our seats, our pilot explained the workings of the plane. Pulling the steering wheel pulls up the nose, pushing it away brings the nose down. There were tons of other commands, which I cannot remember and did not process in the moment. Although I listened as best I could, the excitement was too much to bear and I was itching to get in the air. In the moment, Massimo sounded like Charlie Brown’s teacher, “Bwah bwah bwhah bwah bwah bwah.” I was confident my kinesthetic intelligence would take over once we were in the air. Besides, all I had to do was say, “Your plane!” to the pilot and he would take over.

Massimo started the plane and steered us onto the runway. It felt like we were going a little too fast for a parking lot when Massimo instructed me to bring up the nose. He kept saying in his broken English, “Keep pulling, keep pulling.” When I looked out the window, I noticed we were already 20 feet in the air. The takeoff was so smooth and uneventful that Coleen and I couldn’t believe we were off the ground.

We were quickly in the sky looking out over San Francisco. It’s surprising how much can be seen from an aerial view. There are many small bodies of water and a lot more open space than one would imagine so close to a major city. Flying over the Golden Gate Bridge and the Pacific Ocean was exhilarating. I felt like I had my very own wings. We could see city landscapes, greenery and ocean for miles from a higher perspective.

A couple of days prior I had been with another friend discussing a certain pressing issue when I mentioned the wisdom of being able to see from a “higher perspective.” Just as I uttered those words we drove past a falconer with a red tailed hawk on her arm. My friend stopped the car and we got to see the totem for the “higher perspective” up close. The plane ride seemed like a gift from the Universe that was taking me full circle with this idea of “higher perspective.”

Another interesting plane phenomena is that once the propeller started going, we could no longer see it, except for in photos. Sometimes things move so fast we have a hard time seeing them. That happened to me when I tried to sell my house in the Boston area in the 1990’s. Rent control had been abolished in Cambridge, the next town over. As an Economics major, I knew this policy would affect the local real estate market. Many yuppies with plenty of money for rent had been taking advantage of the rent control system for years. Once they faced the true cost of renting, people who could afford to own decided to buy. Higher demand drove up prices. The local realtors were so involved in the past, in what had come before, they could not see the changes happening in front of their eyes. I had no such problem seeing the shifts, because I had no attachment to the market history. You could say I had a more detached perspective. Local realtors told me I would be very lucky to get $220,000 for my home. I told them it was worth $270,000. They all thought I was crazy, until I got $270,000 for the house. Following my Guidance gave me $50,000 I wouldn’t have had if I had listened to others.

Right now as we near the end of 2012 it feels as if things are moving so quickly it’s challenging to see what’s right in front of us, especially if we look through eyes that insist on seeing the future through the perspective of the past. This is why it’s so important to listen to Guidance and be willing to see from a higher perspective.

The plane ride was a beautiful and freeing experience. The winds were blowing and the plane would lean into one side and I would have to adjust the steering, then we would lean to the other side and I would have to adjust again. We would dip down a little and I would have to pull back until we rose up again. Neither Coleen nor I knew whether or not we would experience fear being up so high in a four-seater plane. I am happy to report that neither of us experienced even a tiny bit of fear. Having a calm and knowledgeable teacher who is well prepared to navigate any unforeseen circumstances put us at ease. The flight was a fabulously joyful experience.

Having a regular spiritual practice and processes to help navigate the twists and turns of life can prepare one for unforeseen circumstances, so that we stay calm and can easily return to center in the face of buffeting winds. Seeing from a higher perspective and trusting our own intuition can lead to greater prosperity in many ways, including emotional freedom and financial gain.

Do you trust your Guidance? Are you willing to see from a Higher Perspective?

About elishevaherrera

I am a teacher, spiritual life coach, vocalist, speaker, shamanic healer and transformative artist. I bridge the gap between the mystical and mundane and teach tools for joyful transformation through sound, movement and the arts.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

